Picked on published fit specifications, not on hands-on testing. How we pick.
The short answer
Eight adjustment points and a seven-year warranty at a mid price is a genuinely good offer. Two published numbers narrow who it suits: the seat does not go below 17 inches, and the capacity stops at 275 pounds - the lowest in our registry.
We earn a commission if you buy through our links. It does not change your price, and it does not change our ranking. We do not publish prices, because we do not run a live price feed — every button opens the current price on the retailer's own page. Full disclosure.
The verdict
A well-specified chair for the people it fits, and the people it fits are a narrower group than the recommendations suggest. The eight adjustments and seven-year warranty are real and worth having. The 17-inch seat floor and the 275-pound capacity exclude a substantial share of adults, and neither number appears in most write-ups.
The published specifications
Branch Ergonomic Chair published dimensions
Specification
Published figure
What it means for you
Seat height
17-21 in
Fits roughly 5 ft 8 in to 6 ft 8 in on our estimate; lower needs a footrest
Overall size
25 in W x 24 in D x 38-42 in H
Compact for a full-featured chair
Armrest width
25-29 in
Published, which is unusual outside Steelcase
Armrest height
26-29 in from the floor
Published as an absolute height rather than above the seat
Weight capacity
275 lb
The lowest in our registry
Adjustments
Eight points, including seat depth and a removable lumbar
More than anything else at the price
Warranty
7 years
Long for the tier; short of Steelcase's 12
Dimensions from OfficeChairsUSA's published Branch specifications. Note that Branch publishes a seat depth slider but we could not find an exact published range for the pan itself on their own spec sheet, so we have not stated one - an absence rather than an estimate.
Fit, mapped to your body
The 17-inch minimum is the number that decides it. On the seat height estimate, a 17-inch floor serves a sitter down to roughly 5 ft 8 in. That is taller than the median adult. Below that you need a footrest, which is a complete and cheap solution but is nobody's first choice on a chair sold as highly adjustable.
The 275-pound capacity is the other constraint, and it is the lowest figure in our registry - lower than the two Sihoo chairs, which are rated to 330. If you are within about twenty pounds of it, buy something rated higher: a capacity is a warranty limit, and sitting at the edge of it means any failure is on you.
Where it is strong
The removable lumbar pad. Genuinely useful. A meaningful number of people do not want a lumbar bump at all, and every other chair in this price range makes that decision for you.
Eight published adjustment points. Including seat depth, which is the adjustment that matters most over a long day.
A seven-year warranty. More than double the budget tier.
Published dimensions. Not universal at this price - both Sihoo chairs and the Hbada publish overall height only.
Compact. 25 by 24 inches suits a home office where the chair shares a room with everything else.
Where it is weak
17-inch seat floor. The biggest limitation, and it excludes most sitters under 5 ft 8 in without a footrest.
275-pound capacity. The lowest here, and lower than chairs costing a third as much.
No published seat pan depth. There is a slider; the range is not stated on the spec sheet we could find.
3D arms, not 4D. Fine, and a step below the Leap v2 and the Doro C300.
Anyone doing genuine eight-hour days five days a week who wants the chair to last a decade - a Series 1 costs similar money with a 12-year multi-shift warranty and a 400-pound rating.
Built on published figures from Branch's retail listings. No hands-on testing is claimed - see how we pick.
The published specifications
Adjustability at a mid price
Branch Ergonomic Chair
Branch publishes eight points of adjustment - 3D armrests, seat height, tilt, tilt tension, seat depth and a removable lumbar pad - and a seven-year warranty, which is long for the tier. The removable lumbar is a genuinely thoughtful inclusion that no premium chair offers, because premium chairs assume you want the lumbar support. It also publishes a seat height of 17 to 21 inches, which puts it above the budget tier on transparency.
Who it fits
Sitters roughly 5 ft 6 in and up, under 275 lb, who want fine adjustment without premium spend.
Who it does not fit
Anyone under about 5 ft 5 in - a 17 in floor is too high - and anyone near or over 275 lb, which is the lowest rating in our registry.
Is the Branch Ergonomic Chair good for short people?+
No. A 17-inch minimum seat height serves a sitter down to about 5 ft 8 in on our estimate. Below that you need a footrest, which works but is not what you expect from a chair sold on adjustability.
What is the Branch chair weight limit?+
275 pounds, which is the lowest in our registry - lower than both Sihoo chairs at 330 pounds. Buy comfortably under a capacity rather than at it.
Branch or Steelcase Series 1?+
Branch for adjustment count and the removable lumbar; Series 1 for a 12-year multi-shift warranty, a 400-pound rating, a lower seat floor and a higher ceiling. For all-day use the Steelcase is the stronger buy.
Does the Branch chair have adjustable seat depth?+
Yes, it is one of the eight published adjustment points. We could not find a published range for the pan itself on Branch's spec sheet, so we have not quoted one.